Category: C.S. Lewis (page 1 of 3)

C.S. Lewis on Modern Bible Translations

Lewis, C.S. 1970 [1947]. “Modern Translations of the Bible.” In God in the Dock: Essays on Theology and Ethics (pp. 229-333), edited by Walter Hooper and published by Eerdmans. Also published in First and Second Things, edited by Walter Hooper (Fount Books, 1985).

In 1947 J.B. Phillips published his Letters to Young Churches: A Translation of the New Testament Epistles (later the whole N.T. was published) and C.S. Lewis was asked to write an introduction to the Epistles. He reminds us that “sincerely pious people in the sixteenth century shuddered at the idea of turning the time-honored Latin of the Vulgate into our common and (as they thought) ‘barbarous’ English” (229).

Continue reading

Screwtape and His Hellions

The small group that meets at our house on (most) Tuesday evenings have finished working through and discussing “The Screwtape Letters”. I led the sessions, ably assisted by “A companion and study guide to The Screwtape Letters” by William O’Flaherty, (main title: C.S. Lewis Goes to Hell). I am glad he did not call it “To hell with C.S. Lewis”!

Continue reading

Modern Man & Categories of Thought

“Modern man and his categories of thought” was published in the book C. S. Lewis: Present Concerns. A collection of ethical essays. It was edited by Walter Hooper in 1986, although written  in 1946 at the request of Bishop Neill for the Study Department of the World Council of Churches.

The book deals with Lewis’s concern on how best to reach the “unconverted” by adapting the Gospel principles to the “changing conditions of history” (p.61).

Continue reading

Screwtape Letters Chapter Headings

Chapter titles for The Screwtape Letters as given by Will Vaus in his 2011 book Speaking of Jack” A C.S. Lewis Discussion Guide, Hamden, CT: Winged Lion Press, p. 74.

  • Preventing conversion
  • The church
  • The family
  • Prayer
  • The war
  • War & fear

7) Extremes

8) The law of undulation

9) Temptation in trough periods

10) Acquaintances

11) Laughter

12) The safest road to hell

13) Repentance

14) Humility

15) Time

16) Attending the parish church

17) Gluttony

18) Sexual temptation, marriage and the family

19) God’s love and being in love

20) Sexual temptation (continued)

21) Ownership

22) Losing in love

23) Theology, politics and the historical Jesus

24) The Christian Inner Ring

25) Change

26) Unselfishness

27) Prayer, free will and old books

28) Life and death

29) Cowardice and courage

30) Reality

31) The ultimate failure and victory




CS Lewis on Education


C.S. Lewis had a privileged education: his parents were well educated and provided him with a home environment of books and discussions; his schools were private, as were his tutors, and his university was elite. There he studied philosophy, the classics, philology and mythology. He learned to read Greek and Latin at a young age and was literate in German, Italian, French and Old Norse, to say nothing of his abilities in Old and Middle English. He did not consider himself a good language learner, as far as speaking the modern languages was concerned.

In his book C.S. Lewis: An apologist for education (2015, Classical Academic Press, Camp Hill, PA), Louis Markos summarizes the education of Lewis, Lewis’s thoughts on education, and what educators can learn from him.

Lewis became famous through his broadcast talks during WWII, his commanding presence at the Oxford Socratic Club and his interaction with the “Inklings”, fellow literary intellectuals that met regularly at an Oxford pub.

Lewis’s book, The Abolition of Man (1944, HarperCollins) is aptly subtitled “Reflections on education with special reference to the teaching of English in the upper forms of schools”. Markos states that “Lewis argues, it is through our chest that we are most distinctly human, for our head points us upward toward the angels while our belly draws us downward toward the beasts” (34). And it is men who are irresponsible for teaching virtue that are “men without chests”. These were the authors of what Lewis called The Green Book. “Their heads are no bigger than the ordinary; it is the atrophy of the chest beneath that makes them seem so” (25).

Continue reading

Older posts

© 2019 Karl J Franklin

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑